Recording over backing tracks?

Discuss Pink Floyd tribute acts including NPF projects too!
floydboy75
Blade
Blade

Recording over backing tracks?

Post by floydboy75 »

Not sure if this post should be here, but I figured it would get more replies. Anyway, for some reason, my Cool Edit Pro won't allow me to record anymore. But, I do have Acid Pro, Cubase, and Cakewalk. I just have no idea how to set up a backing track and then use my Pod XT to record.
Please try to keep it simple for me. I'm still fairly new to the "recording" process.
Thanks!
mosespa

Post by mosespa »

I would suggest using Cakewalk (it's what I use.)

You have to record a backing track before you can record over it. That's about as simple as I can get.
floydboy75
Blade
Blade

Post by floydboy75 »

If I use Cakewalk, how can I set it up so I can use my Pod XT as an input device? I've several backing tracks I can use already.
Thanks for any more help.
mosespa

Post by mosespa »

Not sure how this pod thing works...what I do is just plug my multi-effects unit directly into the back of my computer using a quarter inch female to eighth inch male adapter. That's how I do what I do. Then, I just play.
floydboy75
Blade
Blade

Post by floydboy75 »

Well, I figured out how to use the Pod and record over backing tracks. Which is super cool, but now I can't save them as a wav or mp3 file. Only files that play in Cakewalk. Also, I can only listen to my playback through my headphones. I'll keep plugging at it, but if you have anymore ideas please let me know. Thanks again!
Brian
mosespa

Post by mosespa »

Under "Tools," there should be an option called "mixdown tracks" which will save it as a wav file.

If you need anymore help than that, do a google search.
Massed Gadgets
Supreme Lord!
Supreme Lord!

Post by Massed Gadgets »