interpretations on pink floyd songs

General discussion about Pink Floyd.
informat
Embryo
Embryo

interpretations on pink floyd songs

Post by informat »

hi to all of you pf fans...i'm new to this band and i would like you to send me(if u have)some addresses of websites that are trying to analyze their songs...if you have the interpretations of the pf members itself i would be very happy if you'll send it to me...thanks!!!
ObscuredEchoes
Judge!
Judge!

Post by ObscuredEchoes »

Okay- you're obviously a rookie Floydian... The beauty of the Floyd is that their music is not outer space- it's inner human, and it's got something that everyone can relate to. Don't rely on the interpretations of others- it only detracts from the personal experience. Listen to as much of it as you can get your hands on, beginning with Syd's stuff. Listen to the solo works, as well- they've all got something to say, and it all comes down to life's little lessons and the way we all journey through it. There is no wrong interpretation; it's different for everyone.
Charade I am
Judge!
Judge!

Post by Charade I am »

Amen
seamusz
Judge!
Judge!

Post by seamusz »

I couldn't agree more, I hate it when people think that they KNOW the interpitation of a Floyd song. However, finding out the history of the band and the individuals can give you invaluable insight on deeper meanings of songs and albums.
One last piece of advise, listen to albums, not songs. IMHO you cannot do a greater injustus to Floyd music than to pick up the wall and start with Comfortably Numb, or Hey You which are better well known songs off the album. The best way to take PF is one album at a time. Don't expect to love it all at once either, give it a couple of listenings to before you decide whether or not you like it. When I first bought The Final Cut, I was badly disapointed, but after a few listenings it quickly became a favorite. Just a bit of info from someone who began listening to PF only a few years back.
Good Luck!