Books about Syd - recommendations?

All discussion related to Roger Keith (Syd) Barrett.
Mandi Apple
Embryo
Embryo

Books about Syd - recommendations?

Post by Mandi Apple »

Hi there, I'm a total newbie so if there's already a thread like this (I didn't spot one) then please feel free to delete it... :oops:

I've been a PF fan for many years now, but it's only recently that I've developed an interest in reading and learning more about Syd - he seems like a real enigma to me :) However, there are about 4357844578 books dedicated to him and I was just wondering if any of you knowledgeable folks could recommend some good titles to me? I almost bought a book the other day until I saw it got ripped to shreds here and I was glad I checked in first before forking over the cash...

Any help at all would be really well appreciated :)
oldperfume
Blade
Blade

Re: Books about Syd - recommendations?

Post by oldperfume »

Mandi Apple....welcome to our group! This is a great site & all of the people here are true Syd fans...This would be just one guy's opinion but the books on Syd I would reccomend would be the one by Tim(or is it Tom?!) Willis. It's kind of short but it debunks alot of the "Urban Legend" crap written about Syd.I think it's called "The half life of Syd Barrett". If you go online, you'll find it. Also Julian Palacios wrote "Lost in the Woods" which is longer & a little more in depth, but some of his facts aren't right. Overall, a great book with some good photos too.
"Google" Syd as well & you'll be able to find some old interviews he did (Not many though) & of course others' opinions on him, his music, guitar,etc,etc. Hope this helps!!
Damn!t
Supreme Lord!
Supreme Lord!

Post by Damn!t »

oldperfume wrote:This is a great site
True.
oldperfume wrote:& all of the people here are true Syd fans...
...bit less true.

I dont think theres good books only about Syd around.
You'll learn the most by reading either Masons inside out or Blakes pigs might fly.
zag
Judge!