How Has Pink Floyd Impacted Your Life?

General discussion about Pink Floyd.
Ashes andDiamonds07
Blade
Blade

How Has Pink Floyd Impacted Your Life?

Post by Ashes andDiamonds07 »

When I was two, my granddad showed me his DVD of Roger Waters performing 'The Wall - Live In Berlin' in 1990. This is what got me into Pink Floyd.
I think it was Snowy Whites solo on Another Brick In The Wall, Pt. 2 that originally made me want to play guitar. It was DG's second solo on Comfortably Numb that made me pick up a guitar and learn how to play it.

I like to think I'm a good guitarist, and everything I play has some form of DG inspiration.

It was then Roger Waters who made me want to write song lyrics, namely that last line on 'Two Suns In The Sunset': "Ashes and diamonds, foe and friend, we were all equal in the end." I like to think I'm a good lyric writer as well. I have written a lot of political lyrics, along with Syd Barrett style psychedelic lyrics.

Pink Floyd has also helped me so much through life. When I'm sad I play songs like 'Nobody Home', 'WYWH', 'The Final Cut' and 'The Gunners Dream'. If I'm happy, it's songs like 'Louder Than Words' and 'Bike'.

And for the record, yes, Roger is, in my opinion, the greatest lyric writer of all time, and I do agree with most of his political opinions. I'm not saying he doesn't have a giant ego, because he does.
Jimi Dean Barrett
Judge!
Judge!

Re: How Has Pink Floyd Impacted Your Life?

Post by Jimi Dean Barrett »

Ashes andDiamonds07 wrote: Mon Aug 08, 2022 1:48 am It was then Roger Waters who made me want to write song lyrics, namely that last line on 'Two Suns In The Sunset': "Ashes and diamonds, foe and friend, we were all equal in the end." I like to think I'm a good lyric writer as well. I have written a lot of political lyrics, along with Syd Barrett style psychedelic lyrics.
And there's your problem right there! The whole point of writing is it's you. It's your voice. Your thoughts.