1969 – Pink Floyd – Soundtrack from the Film More

LinksRate Album and Discuss |

Pink Floyd - Soundtrack from the Film More

Check Current Prices Below!

Check current prices on Amazon.co.uk Check current prices on Amazon.com
Track Listing:

01. Cirrus Minor
02. Nile Song
03. Crying Song
04. Up The Khyber
05. Green Is The Colour
06. Cymbaline
07. Party Sequence
08. Main Theme
09. Ibiza Bar
10. More Blues
11. Quicksilver
12. Spanish Piece
13. Dramatic Theme

Rate Album and Discuss

Soundtrack from the Film More is Pink Floyd’s first full-length soundtrack. The film More was directed by Barbet Schroeder; in it, two songs can be heard that were not included on the album: “Seabirds” and “Hollywood”. The album actually comprises the other music used in the film, sometimes in a completely different form.

The original American edition shortened the title to just More. Although the CD edition restores the original UK title in all countries, it is represented differently on the spine (Music from the Film More) and label (Soundtrack to the Film More).

More contains some acoustic folk ballads, a genre that will appear sparsely on later works, a couple of hard rock songs (The Nile Song, Ibiza Bar), and some instrumental tracks featuring their experimental (or avant-garde) approach and their trademark spacey/electronic sound (such as “Quicksilver” and “Main Theme”). Elsewhere, they rely on distinctive harmonic and melodic progressions, such as the surreal chord progression in “Cirrus Minor” or the D dim chord in “Crying Song”.

Soundtrack from the Film More reached #9 in the UK and—upon re-release in 1973—#153 in the US. In 1987, the album was re-released on CD. A digitally remastered CD was released in 1995 in the UK and 1996 in the US.

Miscellaneous Information

This is Pink Floyd’s first album without founding member Syd Barrett, who was ousted from the group in early 1968 during the recording of their previous album, A Saucerful of Secrets. It is also the first album to be produced by Pink Floyd without assistance from Norman Smith and was recorded at Pye Studios, Marble Arch, London and engineered by Brian Humphries.

External Links