Punk Floyd – A Tribute to Pink Floyd

“Punk Floyd – A Tribute to Pink Floyd,” a new album released by Cleopatra Records, brings together veteran punk bands like Fear, The Vibrators, and UK Subs to cover Pink Floyd classics. This release marks a historic melding of punk and prog rock, offering a fresh, edgy take on iconic tracks. The album, symbolising the end of a long-standing genre rivalry, is set for release on May 3.

Listen to Single Now

You can Stream/Download Astronomy Domine single, or pre-save/Pre-Order the album digitally, or buy physical copies from Cleopatra Records on CD or Vinyl. Features tracks by Fear, The Vibrators, UK Subs, Dead Boys, Skids, Anti-Nowhere League, The Members and more!

Punk Floyd - A Tribute to Pink Floyd
Punk Floyd – A Tribute to Pink Floyd

A Long-standing Rivalry

Punk rock was in some ways inevitable, a direct response to the musical trends of the early-mid ‘70s that saw rock music become bloated with overly composed, exceedingly long and pompously performed progressive rock of bands like Genesis, Emerson Lake & Palmer and, yes, Pink Floyd. Then came the punk rock rebellion of 1977 that would define itself in part in opposition to prog rock, and thus a genre rivalry was born. But now many of those ’77 punk legends seek to bury the hatchet by paying homage to the legendary Pink Floyd with the release of Punk Floyd – A Tribute to Pink Floyd

This electrifying album infuses the complex and sophisticated compositions of Pink Floyd with the raw energy and rebellious spirit of punk, setting these punk rock veterans loose on every era of Pink Floyd including the band’s early psychedelic experiments with bandleader Syd Barrett. West coast punk pioneers Fear, for instance, selected the Barrett written “Astronomy Domine” from the 1968 album The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn and set about reinventing the track as a fist pumping, guitar-powered anthem. Fear founder and lead vocalist Lee Ving argues that Pink Floyd should be distinguished from the bloviating bands associated with prog rock, saying “Pink Floyd were always sort of the exception to the rule. They always had an interesting sound unlike many of their contemporaries.” Fear’s version of “Astronomy Domine” has been released today on all digital music platforms!

Track List:

  1. Eclipse – Eater
  2. Time – Jah Wobble & Jon Klein
  3. Comfortably Numb – UK Subs
  4. Astronomy Domine – Fear
  5. Breathe – Skids
  6. Pigs On The Wing – Dead Boys
  7. Bike – Peter & The Test Tube Babies
  8. See Emily Play – The Queers
  9. Brain Damage – D.I.
  10. Hey You – Anti-Nowhere League
  11. Lucifer Sam – MDC
  12. The Nile Song – The Members
  13. Another Brick In The Wall, Pt. 2 – Angry Samoans
  14. Arnold Layne – The Vibrators
  15. Money – JFA
  16. Interstellar Overdrive – Chrome
  17. Gigolo Aunt – Knox

Additional Artwork

Punk Floyd A Tribute to Pink Floyd Vinyl
Punk Floyd A Tribute to Pink Floyd Vinyl
Punk Floyd pack shot layout
Pic 2 : Punk Floyd pack shot layout
Punk Floyd pack shot
Punk Floyd pack shot

You may also like...