Zabriskie Point (1970)

Home / Pink Floyd Discography / Zabriskie Point (1970)

“Zabriskie Point” is a soundtrack album for the Michelangelo Antonioni film of the same name, originally released in March 1970. The album features various contemporary rock acts selected by Antonioni, including Pink Floyd, The Grateful Dead, and Kaleidoscope. Pink Floyd’s contributions to the album were recorded in November and December 1969, following the release of “Ummagumma.”

Key aspects of Pink Floyd’s involvement in the album include:

  1. Track Contributions: Pink Floyd’s notable tracks in the album include “Heart Beat, Pig Meat,” “Crumbling Land,” and “Come in Number 51, Your Time Is Up” (a re-recording of “Careful with That Axe, Eugene”). “Love Scene (Version 4)” is a solo piano composition by Rick Wright. “Country Song” (also known as “The Red Queen”) is a ballad, and “Unknown Song” (also known as “Rain in the Country”) is a relaxed instrumental. “Love Scene (Version 6)” (also known as “Alan’s Blues”) is a bluesy instrumental.
  2. Unreleased Material: During the sessions for “Zabriskie Point,” Pink Floyd recorded several other unreleased tracks, including “Fingal’s Cave” and “Oenone,” which were not included in the finished album. A notable composition known as “The Violent Sequence” was recorded during these sessions, later reworked into “Us and Them” for “The Dark Side of the Moon.”
  3. 1997 Re-release: A 1997 re-release of the soundtrack included four bonus tracks from Jerry Garcia and Pink Floyd that were used in the film but not on the original soundtrack.

The “Zabriskie Point” soundtrack is known for its diverse selection of music and represents an interesting phase in Pink Floyd’s musical journey, capturing their experimental and innovative approach during this period

Pink Floyd Zabriskie Point
Pink Floyd Zabriskie Point