1970 – Roger Waters with Ron Geesin – Music from The Body

LinksRate Album and Discuss |

Roger Waters and Ron Geesin - Music From The Body

Check Current Prices Below!

Check current prices on Amazon.co.uk Check current prices on Amazon.com

Track Listing:

01. Our Song
02. Sea Shell And Stone
03. Red Stuff Writhe
04. Gentle Breeze Blew Through Life, A
05. Lick Your Partners
06. Bridge Passage For Three Plastic Teeth
07. Chain Of Life
08. Womb Bit, The
09. Embryo Thought
10. March Past Of The Embryos
11. More Than Seven Dwarfs In Penis-Land
12. Dance Of The Red Corpuscles
13. Body Transport
14. Hard Dance-Full Evening Dress
15. Breathe
16. Old Folks Ascension
17. Bed-Time-Dream-Clime
18. Piddle In Perspex
19. Embryonic Womb-Talk
20. Mrs. Throat Goes Walking
21. Sea Shell And Soft Stone
22. Give Birth To A Smile

Rate Album and Discuss

Music from The Body is the soundtrack album to Roy Battersby’s 1970 documentary film The Body, about human biology, narrated by Vanessa Redgrave and Frank Finlay. The music was composed in collaboration between Pink Floyd member Roger Waters and Ron Geesin, and employs biomusic, including sounds made by the human body (slaps, breathing, laughing, whispering, flatulence, etc.), in addition to more traditional guitar, piano and stringed instruments. The date of this album places it between Ummagumma and Atom Heart Mother, the latter featuring Geesin as a collaborator. The album’s final track, “Give Birth to a Smile”, features an uncredited appearance by all four members of Pink Floyd, with Geesin playing piano.

Miscellaneous Information

    * “Our Song” features some hectic piano, and noises reminiscent of “Several Species…” from Ummagumma.
    * “Sea Shell And Stone” is a quiet, pastoral ballad, similar to “Grantchester Meadows”, consisting of cello and acoustic guitar.
    * “Red Stuff” and “Bridge Passage For Three Plastic Teeth” are cello/violin instrumentals.
    * “A Gentle Breeze Blew Through Life” is another instrumental, featuring Spanish-style guitar playing.
    * “Lick Your Partners” is a faintly comical but dark, sound collage.
    * “Chain Of Life” is sung by Waters and is another pastoral medley.
    * “Womb Bit” contains disconcerting sound effects and piano.
    * “More Than Seven Dwarfs In Penis Land” is one of the most non-traditional songs on the album, and features chanting.
    * “Dance Of The Red Corpuscles” sounds similar to a merry Irish jig.
    * “Body Transport” features whispered words in a Scottish accent, and heavy breathing.
    * “Hand Dance” does sound like a ballroom dance recording, with violin and cello.
    * “Breathe” (not to be confused with The Dark Side of the Moon’s song of the same name) is another ballad, in which Waters sings about environmental issues.
    * “Embryonic Womb-Walk” is a highly classical piece, full of atmosphere and dynamics.
    * “Mrs. Throat Goes Walking” is a mildly humorous, bass-led sound collage with various strange voices produced by Geesin.
    * “Give Birth to a Smile” features an uncredited Pink Floyd, with backing singers.

External Links