PULSE by Pink Floyd (1995)

Home / Pink Floyd Discography / PULSE by Pink Floyd (1995)

“Pulse,” stylized as P·U·L·S·E, is the third live album by English rock band Pink Floyd. Released on 29 May 1995 in the UK and on 6 June 1995 in the US, it was recorded during the European leg of their Division Bell Tour in 1994. This album is particularly notable for featuring a complete live version of “The Dark Side of the Moon.” It also includes “Astronomy Domine,” a Syd Barrett song not performed since the early 1970s, and “Another Brick in the Wall, Part II,” which incorporates parts of other songs from “The Wall.”

Unlike their previous live album “Delicate Sound of Thunder,” no parts of the songs on “Pulse” were re-recorded in the studio. However, to correct bad notes evident in some bootlegs, solos and vocal lines from other performances were used. The album was mixed in QSound, which produces a 3D audio effect even on a two-channel stereo system.

In the United States, “Pulse” debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, selling 198,000 copies in its first week. This success was notable given its retail price of $34.99, which included a distinctive flashing spine light and two AA batteries. The album remained on the Billboard 200 chart for twenty-two weeks and was certified double platinum by July 1995.

“Pulse” was also released as a four-LP box set, including “One of These Days,” which was also available on the cassette release, along with a large photo booklet. Early CD versions featured a unique flashing red LED on the side of the case, powered by a single AA battery.

The track listing of “Pulse” includes notable performances like “Shine On You Crazy Diamond,” “What Do You Want From Me,” “Learning to Fly,” “Keep Talking,” and “High Hopes.” The band personnel on the album included David Gilmour on lead vocals and guitar, Nick Mason on drums, and Richard Wright on keyboards. Additional musicians contributed to bass, backing vocals, guitar, saxophone, and percussion, enriching the live performance’s depth and diversity

Pulse Pink Floyd 1995 Reedited
Pulse Pink Floyd 1995 Reedited

PULSE Track Listing

The track listing of “Pulse” by Pink Floyd is as follows:

Disc One: of Pink Floyd’s “Pulse”:

  1. “Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Parts 1-5 & 7” (Lead vocals: David Gilmour)
  2. “Astronomy Domine” (Lead vocals: Gilmour, Wright)
  3. “What Do You Want From Me” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  4. “Learning to Fly” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  5. “Keep Talking” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  6. “Coming Back to Life” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  7. “Hey You” (Lead vocals: Gilmour, Jon Carin)
  8. “A Great Day for Freedom” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  9. “Sorrow” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  10. “High Hopes” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  11. “Another Brick in the Wall, Part II” (Lead vocals: Gilmour, Guy Pratt)
  12. “One of These Days” (Instrumental) (LP and Cassette Exclusive)

Disc Two: of Pink Floyd’s “Pulse”:

  1. “Speak to Me” (Instrumental)
  2. “Breathe (In the Air)” (Lead vocals: David Gilmour)
  3. “On the Run” (Instrumental)
  4. “Time / Breathe (Reprise)” (Lead vocals: Gilmour and Richard Wright)
  5. “The Great Gig in the Sky” (Vocals: Sam Brown, Durga McBroom, Claudia Fontaine)
  6. “Money” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  7. “Us and Them” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  8. “Any Colour You Like” (Instrumental)
  9. “Brain Damage” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  10. “Eclipse” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  11. “Wish You Were Here” (Lead vocals: Gilmour)
  12. “Comfortably Numb” (Lead vocals: Gilmour, co-lead vocals: Guy Pratt, Jon Carin)
  13. “Run Like Hell” (Lead vocals: Gilmour, co-lead vocals: Pratt)

This disc mainly features the entirety of “The Dark Side of the Moon,” performed live, along with some of Pink Floyd’s other iconic songs.