Relics by Pink Floyd (1971)

Home / Pink Floyd Discography / Relics by Pink Floyd (1971)

“Relics,” released in 1971, is a compilation album by the English progressive rock band Pink Floyd. It was primarily released to keep the band in the public eye while they were busy with touring and recording their next album. “Relics” includes material from Pink Floyd’s first three albums – “The Piper at the Gates of Dawn,” “A Saucerful of Secrets,” and “More.” Notably, the album featured the band’s first two Syd Barrett-era hit singles, “Arnold Layne” and “See Emily Play,” alongside B-sides and one previously unreleased song, “Biding My Time.”

The cover of “Relics” was designed by Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason, reflecting his architecture studies. The album saw various re-releases, including a remastered CD in 2018 with a different cover. It performed well on the charts, peaking at No. 32 in the UK and achieving Gold certification. The personnel on the album included Syd Barrett, David Gilmour, Nick Mason, Roger Waters, and Rick Wright, each contributing to the unique sound of the compilation

Relics by Pink Floyd Remastered
Relics by Pink Floyd Remastered

Track Listings of Relics by Pink Floyd

Disc: 1
1 Arnold Layne (2018 Remastered Version)
2 Interstellar Overdrive (2018 Remastered Version)
3 See Emily Play (2018 Remastered Version)
4 Remember A Day (2018 Remastered Version)
5 Paintbox (2018 Remastered Version)

Disc: 2
1 Julia Dream (2018 Remastered Version)
2 Careful With That Axe Eugene (2018 Remastered Version)
3 Cirrus Minor (2018 Remastered Version)
4 The Nile Song (2018 Remastered Version)
5 Biding My Time (2018 Remastered Version)
6 Bike (2018 Remastered Version)

Relics 2018 Remastering

The 2018 remastered version of Pink Floyd’s “Relics” was a notable release, particularly for its fidelity to the original recordings. The remastering was done by Bernie Grundman, James Guthrie, and Joel Plante from the original analogue tapes. This meticulous process ensured the preservation and enhancement of the album’s original sound quality.

The 2018 remaster of “Relics” was issued on 180-gram heavyweight vinyl, reflecting a commitment to high-quality physical media. The packaging included a textured picture sleeve that reproduced the original cover artwork designed by Pink Floyd’s drummer, Nick Mason. This edition was marketed and distributed by Parlophone Records Ltd., a Warner Music Group Company, under the Pink Floyd Music Ltd. label.

This remastered version maintained the original track listing of “Relics,” which included iconic Pink Floyd songs like “Arnold Layne,” “Interstellar Overdrive,” “See Emily Play,” and “Bike.” The album’s composition, which featured tracks from the band’s first three albums, represented a significant part of Pink Floyd’s early work and was a key release for fans and collectors of the band’s music