Pink Floyd A Nice Pair (1973)

Home / Pink Floyd Discography / Pink Floyd A Nice Pair (1973)

“Pink Floyd A Nice Pair” is a compilation album released in 1973. This album is essentially a re-packaging of Pink Floyd’s first two albums, “The Piper at the Gates of Dawn” (1967) and “A Saucerful of Secrets” (1968). It was released after the success of “The Dark Side of the Moon,” as Pink Floyd’s music was gaining more widespread attention.

“The Piper at the Gates of Dawn” was the only album made under the leadership of Syd Barrett, the band’s original frontman. It’s known for its psychedelic sound and is considered a classic of the genre. Songs like “Astronomy Domine” and “Interstellar Overdrive” are highlights of this album.

“A Saucerful of Secrets” was the transition album for the band, where David Gilmour came in to replace Syd Barrett. This album continued the psychedelic style but also showed signs of the band moving towards a more progressive rock sound. Notable tracks include “Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun” and the title track “A Saucerful of Secrets.”

The artwork for “A Nice Pair” was distinct and somewhat controversial, featuring a series of puns and visual jokes.

This compilation was a way for new fans to experience the band’s early work, which was quite different from their later, more famous albums like “The Dark Side of the Moon” and “Wish You Were Here.” The sound and style of Pink Floyd in these early albums were experimental and foundational in the development of their later, more universally recognized progressive rock sound.

Track list of A Nice Pair (1973) by Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd A Nice Pair Compilation 1973 Front LP
Pink Floyd A Nice Pair Compilation 1973 Front LP

All songs by Syd Barrett, except where noted.

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn

Side 1
“Astronomy Domine” – 4:14 (UK – 1967 studio version) / 8:25 (USA – 1969 live version)
“Lucifer Sam” – 3:07
“Matilda Mother” – 3:08
“Flaming” – 2:46
“Pow R. Toc H.” (Barrett / Roger Waters / Richard Wright / Nick Mason) – 4:26
“Take Up Thy Stethoscope and Walk” (Waters) – 3:05

Side 2
“Interstellar Overdrive” (Barrett / Waters / Wright / Mason) – 9:41
“The Gnome” – 2:13
“Chapter 24” – 3:42
“The Scarecrow” – 2:11
“Bike” – 3:21

A Saucerful of Secrets

Side 1
“Let There Be More Light” (Waters) – 5:38
“Remember a Day” (Wright) – 4:33
“Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun” (Waters) – 5:28
“Corporal Clegg” (Waters) – 4:13

Side 2
“A Saucerful of Secrets” (David Gilmour / Waters / Wright / Mason) – 11:57
“See-Saw” (Wright) – 4:36
“Jugband Blues” – 3:00

A Nice Pair (1973) Album LP Artwork