Delicate Sound of Thunder Pre-Order DVD/BluRay – Restored. Re-Edited. Remixed.

Pink Floyd’s Delicate Sound of Thunder will be available on 20th November 2020 in multiple formats including Blu-ray and DVD, with audio-only versions on 2-CD or 3-LP, plus a Deluxe 4-disc version including 2-CDs plus Blu-ray and DVD, each of which contain five bonus tracks.

Pre-Order now from or

There was a cinema screening planned but, unfortunately, was cancelled due to the Coronavirus restrictions in place making it not feasible. A shame as the transfer of the 35mm film to 4k digital would have looked amazing up on the silver screen.

The newly edited and mixed video/audio of the concert performance looks and sounds amazing. It was released in the big box set of Pink Floyd’s Later Years collection which chronicled in great detail the output from Pink Floyd post-Roger Waters. An amazing collection for the era.

Many fans of course only wanted this particular release given what has been done with the capture from film, re-mixing and re-editing. Hence this will be exciting news – in a time of bad news – and just in time for Christmas too. So, if you are thinking of what to add to your Xmas list, then this could well be a very good option along with the official Pink Floyd calendar.

Pre-Order now from or

Track Listing: Deluxe 4 Disc Box Set

Deluxe 4 disc box set

4-Disc Box Set contains:
2CD (23 Songs), Blu-ray (21 songs inc. 5 Bonus Tracks), DVD (21 songs inc. 5 Bonus Tracks), 40-Page booklet, double-sided poster and 5 Postcards

Blu-ray – Stereo PCM 96/24, 5.1 dts Master Audio (96/24)

DVD – Stereo PCM (48/16), 5.1 Dolby Digital (48/16), 5.1 dts (48/16)

1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5 
2. Signs Of Life
3. Learning To Fly
4. Yet Another Movie
5. Round And Around
6. A New Machine Part 1
7. Terminal Frost
8. A New Machine Part 2
9. Sorrow
10. The Dogs Of War
11. On The Turning Away

1. One Of These Days
2. Time
3. On The Run
4. The Great Gig In The Sky
5. Wish You Were Here
6. Welcome To The Machine
7. Us And Them
8. Money
9. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 
10. Comfortably Numb
11. One Slip
12. Run Like Hell

Blu-ray and DVD
1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Parts 1-5 
2. Signs Of Life
3. Learning To Fly
4. Sorrow
5. The Dogs Of War
6. On The Turning Away
7. One Of These Days
8. Time
9. On The Run
10. The Great Gig In The Sky 
11. Wish You Were Here
12. Us And Them
13. Money
14. Comfortably Numb
15. One Slip
16. Run Like Hell

Bonus tracks
1. Yet Another Movie 
2. Round And Around 
3. A New Machine Part 1 
4. Terminal Frost
5. A New Machine Part 2

Official Press Release

The release of the restored, re-edited and remixed version of Delicate Sound of Thunder has been announced for Friday 20th November. Originally available solely on VHS and Laser disc, the Grammy Award-nominated programme has been completely restored and re-edited under the direction of Aubrey Powell of Hipgnosis, with the sound remixed by Andy Jackson with David Gilmour. It will be available on Blu-ray and DVD, with audio-only versions on 2-CD or 3-LP, plus a Deluxe 4-disc version including 2-CDs plus Blu-ray and DVD, each of which contain five bonus tracks.

Delicate Sound of Thunder was filmed a year into the triumphant record-breaking Momentary Lapse of Reason tour at the Nassau Coliseum in Long Island, New York. Although the actual final live date was in June 1990, this concert presentation celebrated the last shows of 1988 – filmed and recorded over a 5-night run in August. Originally directed by Wayne Isham, the new version was sourced directly from hundreds of cans of original 35mm negatives, painstakingly restored and transferred to 4K, with the show completely re-edited by Benny Trickett, under the creative direction of Aubrey Powell/Hipgnosis. Similarly, the sound was completely remixed from the original multitrack tapes by longtime Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson with David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Seen and heard playing alongside David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright are: Jon Carin (Keyboards, Vocals); Tim Renwick (Guitars, Vocals); Guy Pratt (Bass, Vocals); Gary Wallis (Percussion); Scott Page (Saxophones, Guitar); Margret Taylor (Backing Vocals); Rachel Fury (Backing Vocals); and Durga McBroom (Backing Vocals). Film Producers were Curt Marvis and Carl Wyant and Director of Photography was Marc Reshovsky, with Lighting Design by Marc Brickman. Content varies from format to format: Blu-ray and DVD include 16 songs in 115 minutes, with the 3-LP and 2-CD containing 23 songs each (nine more than the original vinyl release and eight more than the original 2-CD). All formats include a 24-page booklet, while the Deluxe box has a 40-page booklet, a double-sided poster and five postcards.

The set list carefully balances then-new material from A Momentary Lapse of Reason and Pink Floyd classics, including four songs from The Dark Side of the Moon, the anthemic title track of Wish You Were Here, Comfortably Numb and a cathartic Run Like Hell. As a record of the creative power of David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright, Delicate Sound of Thunder presents them at their incendiary best.


Pink Floyd News page with official press release

Delicate Sound of Thunder website with lots of details

Discuss Delicate Sound of Thunder on the forum

You may also like...